top of page

Public TRANSPORTATION

Public Transportation: What is it like? How accessible is it for people of all ages? What about if you are disabled? Is it safe? It is affordable?

Public Transporting in the MOTHER City.

Instant gratification seems to be the thing of 2016. I am guilty of this absolutely. I must say though, that when it comes to transportation in Cape Town, it’s all about patience. Sometimes I close my eyes and think I could be in Los Angeles with the amount of traffic that seems to be prevalent on a day-to-day basis. Constant honking and yelling of Afrikaans profanities fill my ears when I am on the N-2, coming home from my hot yoga class.

Transportation in Cape Town is not ideal for one of the aging variety. Because of Cape Town’s metropolis, it’s almost fundamentally impossible to get around this city if you are disabled, frail or elderly. In the city bowl, most streets simply do not have side walks and if you cross the street you are risking your life. I am guilty of jay walking and have had one too many near death experiences.

I took the train in an attempt to see what life would be like for someone older. There is a train station in Rondebosch right near my flat. To begin, to even get to the platform one must climb very steep stairs. You must get a ticket in a different location than where you actually wait for the train and where you sit and wait is directly in the sunshine. It is a beautiful place to breathe in the fresh, sweet air, but if you are older and trying to navigate your way into town for a doctors appointment it is far from ideal. I waited almost 45 minutes for the train to arrive. When it did, I entered a crowded, hot chamber with many eyes on me. I can imagine how difficult this would have been if you were older or if you were just a relatively frail individual. I would not call this the safest transportation medium, as there have been many robberies and violent assaults. One should most definitely not take the train alone also. I must say though that it is very affordable. I paid 15 rand for my ticket, which is a around a dollar.

In terms of other modes of transportations: do not take taxis that aren’t a part of an actual taxi company (Cab co, Elite, etc.), and don’t take taxis alone at night ever!! We have been told to always negotiate a price BEFORE you get in the cab, otherwise they’ll totally try to rip you off.

Uber is probably the best way to navigate this city if you do not have a car. It has been my saving grace here because it’s safe, affordable and totally reliable. To get into town, like the coffee shop I am at now typing this blog post, it was around 60 Rand for a 15 minute ride. This is about 4$!! In Los Angeles this would easily be around 20$. For an elderly person, the technology could be a huge barrier, but it is something very easy to understand once you get past the original steps of downloading.

I have found that technology, in general, is a barrier for a lot of people, young, middle aged or old. People are scared to commit to something that they don’t understand. It’s that fear of the unknown, but usually getting started is the hardest part. I would love to sit down with an older person and help them navigate their understanding around a life changing technology.


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page